The American Association of Bovine Veterinarians 42nd Annual Conference in Omaha, Neb. recognized several deserving veterinarians.

Fort Dodge Animal Health /AABP 2009 Practitioner of the Year
Gary Koester, Cadillac, MI

Alpharma Award of Excellence
Pam Ruegg, DVM, University of Wisconsin

Merial Excellence in Preventive Medicine
Beef – Dave Rethorst, Red Cloud, Neb.
Dairy – Fred Gingrich, Ashland, Ohio

Pfizer Animal Health Distinguished Service Award
Jim Ehrlich, Argyle, NY

Intervet/Schering-Plough Mentor-of-the-Year
Dan Upson, Manhattan, Kan.

Merial James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders
Lisa Willis, Gustine, Texas

Research Summary Awards

  • First Place: Theresa Ollivett, Cornell University
  • Second Place: Alfonso Lago, University of Minnesota
  • Third Place: Jason Nickell, Kansas State University
Dr. Gary Koester (left), was presented the Fort Dodge/AABP 2009 Bovine Practitioner of the Year by Dr. Keith Sterner.
Dr. Pam Ruegg (center, pictured with Dr. Dick Wallace (left) and Dr. Lance Fox) received the Alpharma Award of Excellence.
Dr. Dave Rethorst (left) was presented the Merial Excellence in Preventive Medicine--Beef Award by Dr. Wade Taylor.
Intervet/Schering-Plough Mentor-of-the-Year Dr. Dan Upson (left) was presented the award by Dr. Dave Rethorst.

Dr. Lisa Willis (center) awarded the Merial James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders. Willis joined by AABP Immediate Past Dr. President Dick Wallace (left)
and Dr. John Ferry.