KANSAS CITY — Following a provocative keynote address by noted animal handling expert Temple Grandin, in which she challenged industry members to deal with the aspects of livestock production troubling to the public, the members of the Meat Industry Hall of Fame Class of 2012 were announced. The formal ceremony, which took place in San Antonio on Saturday, ran the emotional gamut from uplifting to sobering to celebratory.

Among the honorees at a special black-tie event held in conjunction with the inaugural Outlook Conference of the new North American Meat Association (NAMA) was Bobby Hatoff, former president of Chicago’s Allen Brothers meat company and a leader in the consolidation of the National Meat Association and the North American Meat Processors Association that created NAMA. Hatoff’s untimely death earlier this month evoked some moving tributes from his many friends.

“He was too good for this world,” said Dr. James Marsden, Regent’s Distinguished Professor of Meat Science at Kansas State University, in a reference to the famous observation about Vincent Van Gogh.

“His generosity touched all those who knew him,” said Rosemary Mucklow, NAMA Executive Director Emeritus, and a Senior Trustee and Charter Member of the Meat Industry Hall of Fame.

“He would have been very proud to be standing here accepting this award—I know that,” his son Todd told the audience, noting that his death prompted his father’s friend and former Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley to break down in tears.

The other distinguished Members of the Class of 2012 are:
• Bill Fielding, leading executive with Cargill, Inc.; ConAgra Fresh Meat; Creekstone Farms Premium Beef, LLC; Meyer Natural Foods and HeartBrand Beef
• Ellard Pfaelzer, Sr, Founder, Pfaelzer Bros. (Posthumous recognition)
• Ellard “Butch” Pfaelzer, Jr, CEO (Retired), The Bruss Co.
• Fred Usinger, President, Usinger’s Famous Sausage (Posthumous recognition)
• Dave Theno, Ph.D., Senior Vice President (retired), Jack in the Box, and CEO, Gray Dog Partners, Inc.
• Dave Wood, CEO, Harris Ranch
• Jim Hodges, Executive Vice President, American Meat Institute, President, American Meat Institute Foundation
• Mohammad Koohmaraie, Ph.D., CEO, Meat Division, IEH Laboratories and Consulting Group
• Steve Krut, CEO (Retired), American Association of Meat Processors
• Herb Lotman, Founder, Keystone Foods (Retired)
• Marvin J. Walter, Founder, Dayton Road Development Corporation (Posthumous recognition)

Chuck Jolley, President of the Meat Industry Hall of Fame, announced that nominations for the Class of 2013 will be open in January. The Induction Ceremony will take place in conjunction with the Food Processing Suppliers Association Process Expo in Chicago, November, 2013.