The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated three additional counties for disaster assistance due to flooding.

Sen. Tim Johnson, D-S.D., announced Monday that Brookings, Duel and Moody counties will be eligible for federal aid.

A federal disaster designation allows farmers to obtain low-interest emergency loans and other assistance, if they meet eligibility requirements.

Other counties designated earlier as disaster areas are Aurora, Beadle, Brown, Clay, Davison, Day, Hanson, Jerauld, Kingsbury, Lincoln, Marshall, Miner, Roberts, Sanborn, Turner, Union and Yankton.

Johnson says South Dakota farmers have been hit hard this year and USDA programs should help people recover.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press.