Iowa’s cattle producers are asking their fellow Iowans to help them find Iowa’s Best Burger in 2015. In this year’s quest, the Iowa Beef Industry Council (IBIC) and the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association (ICA) are encouraging you to nominate your favorite burger, whether it’s gourmet or down-home style.

This is the sixth year the two groups are holding the annual Iowa’s Best Burger contest, which officially kicks off February 11. All nominations must be in the IBIC office by 5 p.m. on March 10, 2015.

“We’re looking for the best burger served in an Iowa restaurant,” says Bedford cattle producer Roger Brummett, chairman of the Iowa Beef Industry Council. Brummett says the entries need to be 100% beef burgers. “Although burgers are often standard fare, we know from experience that the winners of this contest serve outstanding burgers.”

In order to recognize these great burgers, IBIC and ICA are asking Iowa consumers to nominate their favorite burgers for the award, and those nominations can be made by mail, text, or online.

Details about the contest rules and nomination forms are available on the Iowa Beef Industry Council’s website, Burger lovers can also find a link to the online nomination form at the Iowa Beef Council Facebook page; or by texting BEEF to 313131.

Brummett noted that restaurants are a valuable partner to the beef industry. “They do a tremendous job of preparing and serving our beef products in delicious and creative ways. The burger is the all–American classic, and restaurants have done an excellent job in giving customers many choices when they order it.”

The nomination period ends March 10, 2015. The ‘Top Ten’ list will be announced in mid-March. Finalists will receive a certificate and will be eligible for the secret taste-test of contest judges. The 2015 Best Burger in Iowa will be announced on May 4 and will kick-off May Beef Month.

In 2014, 9,600 nominations for 456 restaurants were received in the contest. The final winners in previous years are: 2014 – Brick City Grill, Ames; 2013 – 61 Chop House Grille, Mediapolis; 2012 – Coon Bowl III, Coon Rapids; 2011 – Rusty Duck, Dexter; 2010 – Sac County Cattle Company, Sac City.