Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback issued emergency declarations for nine counties last week due to the high risk of wildfire. Counties covered by the official designation were Barton, Ellis, Ellsworth, Lincoln, Mitchell, Osborne, Phillips, Rooks and Russell.

Lee Tafanelli, the state adjutant general and director of the Kansas Division of Emergency Management, said his agency is prepared to provide assistance to counties if needed. 

Hot and dry conditions contributed to numerous fires last week in central and northcentral Kansas. In addition to counties under the emergency declaration, some have implemented burn bans. The list includes Anderson, Barton, Cheyenne, Decatur, Franklin, Gove, Graham, Logan, Mitchell, Morton, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Rawlins, Rooks, Sherman, Thomas and Trego.

For more information visit www.kla.org.