Fort Worth, Texas – The Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association (TSCRA) installed new officers Sunday during the closing session of the 136th Annual Cattle Raisers Convention in Fort Worth.

Clay Birdwell, Hereford, was elected president; Pete Bonds, Saginaw, first vice president; Richard Thorpe, Winters, second vice president; and Eldon White, Fort Worth, executive vice president.

"The continued determination and commitment of cattle raisers is needed as our industry looks to the future," said Birdwell. "It is an honor to serve as president of TSCRA and I look forward to working with our members to ensure the strength and stability of the Texas cattle industry."

Birdwell is president of Great Plains Cattle Feeders and Birdwell Cattle Co. headquartered in Hereford. He has been part of TSCRA leadership since 1995, when he was elected a director. He was elected second vice president in 2009 and first vice president in 2011.

Bonds operates the Bonds Ranch headquartered in Saginaw. He became a TSCRA director in 1992 and was elected second vice president in 2011.

The newest TSCRA officer is Dr. Richard Thorpe. Thorpe is owner and operator of Mesa T Ranch headquartered in Winters. Thorpe was elected a TSCRA director in March 2006. He earned his medical degree from Texas Tech University.

New directors were also elected at convention. New directors are Gardner Dudley, Houston; Jay Evans, Austin; Johnny Ferguson, Big Lake; Clayton Henry, Vernon; Gerald Nobles Jr., Brady; Jason Peeler, San Antonio; and Ken Welch, Baird.

New executive committee members include J.K. Rooter Brite Jr., Bowie; Austin Brown II, Beeville; Dave Delaney, Kingsville; Tom Haynie, Navasota.

William Donnell Jr, Alpine; Katharine Armstrong Love, Austin; Len Mertz, San Angelo; Raymond Moore IV, Richmond; and Gordon Richardson, Caldwell, were elected as honorary directors.

All members with honorary titles serve as ex officio members of the board.