The United States Cattlemen's Association (USCA) commends the thirty-two U.S. Senators led by Senator Mike Enzi (R-WY) and Senator Jon Tester (D-MT) for standing up for U.S. cattle producers and supporting the U.S. country of origin labeling (COOL) law. The bi-partisan group of Senators sent a letter to the Senate Appropriations Committee this week urging leadership to reject any efforts to weaken or suspend COOL through upcoming legislation.

"The Senate should not undermine the United States' position by inserting a legislative rider into an appropriations bill before the World Trade Organization (WTO) process is final," the letter states. The letter also directs the Senate committee to allow the ongoing WTO process to reach finality in order to ensure labeling remains consistent with U.S. trade obligations.

USCA President Danni Beer, Keldron, SD stated, "It's gratifying to see such bi-partisan support for the US COOL law. This is exactly the message that U.S. producers want to convey to Congress. USCA encourages this bipartisan group of policy-makers to stay engaged in defending COOL. COOL opponents will continue to try and dismantle COOL at every opportunity. USCA will stay the course in defending COOL by assisting the U. S. Trade Representative, the Department of Agriculture and Congress as the need arises."

USCA, along with a coalition representing a large number of producer and consumer groups will continue to defend COOL via the legislative, regulatory and judicial process.

Senators signed-on to this letter include: Senator Jon Tester (D-MT); Senator Mike Enzi (R-WY); Senator Tim Johnson (D-SD); Senator Charles Grassley (R-IA); Senator Heidi Heitkamp (D-SD); Senator John Thune (R-SD); Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA); Senator John Hoeven (R-ND); Senator Mark Begich (D-AK); Senator Susan M. Collins (R-ME); Senator Carl Levin (D-MI); Senator David Vitter (R-LA); Senator Tom Udall (D-NM); Senator Kristen Gillibrand (D-NY); Senator Mary L. Landrieu (D-LA); Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH); Senator Martin Heinrich (D-NM); Senator Bernard Sanders (I-VT); Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA); Senator Benjamin L. Cardin (D-MD); Senator Jeff Merkley (D-OR); Senator Edward Markey (D-MA); Senator Christopher S. Murphy (D-CT); Senator Claire McCaskill (D-MO); Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA); Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-CT); Senator Al Franken (D-MN); Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN); Senator John Walsh (D-MT); Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT); Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI); Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI).